Faculty Council

The UMSON Faculty Council is the mechanism by which the Faculty Assembly is engaged in:

  • Shared governance
  • Policy making
  • Exchange of information
  • Staff and student concerns

The Faculty Council consists of nine elected and eight ex-officio members:

  • The elected members are the chair, chair-elect, secretary, representatives from the associate/assistant deans and each department and the UMSON UMB Faculty Senate representative. 
  • The ex-officio members include the dean, immediate past chair of Faculty Council, and the chairs of the standing committees.

Faculty Council Committee Affiliations:

  • There are six Standing Committees of the Faculty Council. All members are elected from the Faculty Assembly. The Standing Committees include four Curriculum Committees, Student Affairs, and Appointments, Progressions, and Tenure.
  • Faculty are members of the Admissions and Academic Standing Committees and the three Judicial Boards. Faculty are elected from the Faculty Assembly for positions on the Academic Standing Committee and Judicial Boards.
  • The Faculty Council participates in shared governance through their role on the Governance, Academic and Student Affairs, and Technology Councils.
Meeting Times

Faculty Council:
3rd Monday, 10 - 11:50 a.m.
All faculty members are welcome to attend.

Baccalaureate/CNL Curriculum Committee:
1st Monday 1- 2:50 p.m.

MSN Curriculum Committee:
1st Monday, 10 - 11:50 a.m.

DNP Curriculum Committee:
2nd Monday, 1 - 2:50 p.m.

PhD Curriculum Committee:
1st Monday, 1 - 2:50 p.m.


Appointments, Promotion and Tenure (APT) Committee:
2nd and 4th Mondays, 10 - 11:50 a.m.

Student Affairs Committee:
4th Monday, 1:30 - 3:20 p.m.

Judicial Boards:

Faculty Senate:
3rd Wednesday, noon - 12:50 p.m.


Appointments, Promotion and Tenure (APT) Committee

Position Name
Chair Luana Colloca, MD, PhD, MS (Professor Tenured)
Non-Tenured Associate Professors Veronica P. Njie-Carr, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FWACN
Tenured Associate Professors

Mary Regan, PhD, RN
Shijun Zhu, PhD, DrE

Non-Tenured or Tenured Professors Alison M. Trinkoff, ScD, MPH, RN, FAAN

Judicial Board Members

Position Name

AD Student and Academic Services
Jennifer Schum, PhD

BSN Judicial Board

Linda Cook, PhD, RN, CCNS, ACNP 
Sarah Green, MS, RN-BC
Michele A. Michael, PhD, CRNP

Tarleen Weston, DNP, PMHNP-BC
Joan Davenport, PhD, RN
Benjamin Canha, PhD, RN
Patricia Schaefer, DNP, RN, CNE-cl, CHSE, CNE

MSN Judicial Board

Susan M. Antol, PhD, MS, RN
Cheryl Fisher, EdD, MSN, RN
Linda Hickman, PhD, MBA, RN, FACHE
Nancy Lerner, DNP, RN, CDONA
Charlotte Nwogwugwu, DrPH, BSN, RN, HIV PCP, CPH-BC
Carol A. O'Neil, PhD, RN, CNE

DNP Judicial Board

Erica Alessandrini, DNP, CRNP, FNP-BC
Jennifer Fitzgerald, DNP, NNP-BC*
Richard Conley Jr., DNP, CRNA
Paul Thurman, PhD, RN, ACNPC, CCNS, CCRN*
Ameera Chakravarthy, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, FNP-BC
Barb Van de Castle, DNP, RN-BC, ACNS-BC, OCN


Academic Standing Committee

Meeting Times

1.  Faculty Council: 3rd Monday 10 a.m. - noon
2.  BCNL Curriculum Committee: 1st Monday 1 p.m. – 3 p.m.
3.  Masters Curriculum Committee: 1st Monday from 10 - 11:50 a.m.
4.  DNP Curriculum Committee: 2nd Monday from 1 p.m. - 3 p.m.
5.  PhD Curriculum Committee: 1st Monday from 1 p.m. - 3 p.m.
6.  APT Committee: 2nd and 4th Monday from 10 a.m. - noon
7.  Student Affairs: 4th Monday from 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
8.  Judicial Boards: Varies
9.  UMB Faculty Senate: 3rd Wednesday 12 p.m. - 1 p.m.
10.  DEI Council: Determined by Council