Dean Jane M. Kirschling Excellence in Leadership Award

This annual award is presented in the spirit of Dean Kirschling's legacy, "to leave UMSON a better place to work and learn, a place that values inclusiveness, civility and respect."

This is an opportunity for employees to recognize and reward excellent supervisors, managers, visionaries, and leaders in the UMSON community.


To be eligible for the Excellence in Leadership Award, UMSON employees must:

  • supervise other employees, lead other UMSON community members (faculty, staff, or students) in any project/initiative, or manage an academic program
  • have been employed at UMSON for at least two years and have been in their current leadership position for at least one year at the time of nomination
  • be full-time employees.


Nominations will be accepted Oct. 30 - Nov. 17, 2023.

Selection Committee

The selection committee includes Dean Ogbolu, the associate dean for equity, diversity, and inclusion, the Faculty Council chair, the Staff Council chair, and a UMB representative.

The winner will be announced at the December All-School Meeting.

Fill out my online form.