Steering Committee

Patricia D Franklin, PhD, RN

Dr. Patricia D Franklin had a professional career with achievements in practice, program management, academia and professional development. While in primary care practice, Franklin served  on professional association, government, and coalition boards and committees, including as president of a national professional association.  Transitioning to the non-profit sector, Franklin successfully managed a multi-year, multi-site, John A. Hartford Foundation (JAHF) grant that began as a $2 million award and over 10 years grew to $26 million in funding. After completing her doctoral degree Franklin joined the University of Maryland School of Nursing faculty where she taught health policy, health systems, and leadership in graduate programs.  In addition, she served as Director of the Office of Professional Education (OPE), developing professional continuing education (CE) programs as well as launching and chairing an interprofessional CE consortium with colleagues from the Schools of Medicine, Pharmacy, Social Work and Law.  As PI on a $2.5 million, 5-year state awarded grant to build nurse leadership capacity in Maryland, Franklin designed and ran the School’s first Leadership Institute.  She retired from School of Nursing in 2019 and continued to work as a consultant. 

Chamindi Seneviratne, MD
Assistant Professor, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Dr. Seneviratne completed post-doctoral research training in neurobiology and molecular genomics and has conducted extensive research in molecular genetics in substance abuse, with a focus on alcohol use disorders. She has served as principal investigator on multiple NIH-funded studies and her current research is focused on the treatment of substance use disorders and the placebo response.