Board of Visitors

The UMSON Board of Visitors consists of dynamic leaders from both the private and public sectors whose contributions of time, knowledge, and philanthropy serve as a cornerstone to sustaining excellence in undergraduate and graduate nursing education.

Board members serve in an advisory role, communicate UMSON’s messages to the greater Baltimore business and professional communities, and partner with the School in strategic fundraising activities.

  • Rear Adm. (Ret.) Elizabeth Niemyer, MS, BSN ’78, Chair 
  • Marjorie Stamler Bergemann, CRNA  
  • John Bing, CRNA, FAAN
  • Christopher F. Callaghan, MS 
  • Karen E. Doyle, DNP ’20, MBA, MS ’91, BSN ’85, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
  • Pamela V. Hammond, PhD, ScD (Hon.), MS ’79, RN, ANEF, FAAN 
  • Winifred S. Hayes, PhD, MS ’74, BSN ’71, RN, PCNP         
  • Hurst R. Hessey, JD  
  • William J. McLennan, BS
  • James G. Melonas, MBA
  • Honorable Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, DPS (Hon.) ’23, DHL (Hon.), MAS, BSN ’80, RN, FAAN 
  • Col. (Ret.) Daniel J. O’Neal III, MA, BSN ’66, RN 
  • Joyce A. Parks, DNP ’14, MS ’93, RN, PMHCNS-BC 
  • Malinda M. Peeples, MS ’97, RN, CDCES, FADCES
  • Andrea Perman, BSN, RN 
  • Michelle M. Rivest, MS ’79, BSN ’75, RN 
  • Linda E. Rose, PhD ’92, RN, FAAN
  • Lisa Rowen, DNSc, MS ’86, RN, CENP, BCC, FAONL, FAAN
  • Sandra A. Schoenfisch, PhD, MS ’76
  • Eleanor B. Schron, PhD ’08, MS ’79, FAHA, FAAN, FSCT 
  • Phyllis Sharps, PhD '88, BSN '70, RN, FAAN
  • Jacqueline Jones Stone, MS ’71, RN  
  • David Vlahov, PhD, MS ’80, BSN ’77, RN, FAAN 
  • Joyce S. Willens, PhD ’94, RN, BC