PhD Program 45th Anniversary

45th UMSON PhD Program graphic with Maryland flag and UMSON logo

Celebrating Excellence and Inspiring the Future

PhD Profiles in Excellence Collage and Alumni Directory:

A collage of alumni profiles will be compiled and posted on the UMSON website before the PhD program’s 45th Anniversary, Sept. 20 - 21, 2024. If you would like to be included in this digital collage, please complete the questionnaire and submit a professional photo by July 31, 2024.

A directory of UMSON PhD program alumni will also be created to distribute after the event. If you would like to have your contact information included in the directory, please complete the form by July 31, 2024.

Complete the Form

PhD Program 45th Anniversary Celebration
Sept. 20 - 21, 2024
University of Maryland School of Nursing

Register Now

For more than four decades, the University of Maryland School of Nursing’s PhD program has prepared scholars and researchers to tackle the greatest challenges facing health care. The UMSON PhD program was initiated in 1979 as the 16th doctoral nursing program in the nation.

Our students are carefully chosen and matched to the faculty member who can offer the greatest opportunity for the student to succeed in developing their research program. UMSON PhD alumni are a thriving group, many of whom hold key leadership positions in academia, research, and administration across the country.

Join Dean Yolanda Ogbolu, PhD ’11, MS ’05, BSN ’04, FNAP, FAAN, a 2011 graduate of UMSON’s PhD program, at this 45th anniversary celebration of excellence.

“UMSON has a rich legacy of the development of nursing sciences through research. Our doctoral program was one of the few nursing PhD programs when it launched in 1979 and has contributed to healthcare improvements through the development of new knowledge that provides a foundation for the advancement of nursing science. Today it is the most diverse R1 or R1-equivalent nursing PhD program in the nation.”

Time Activity

Friday, Sept. 20

4 - 5 p.m.

Welcome and Registration

Main Lobby

PhD Student Poster Presentations

Donor Wall Lobby

5 - 6 p.m.

Recognition of PhD Program Founders and Leaders

Auditorium (Room 130)

6 - 7 p.m.


Main Lobby

Saturday, Sept. 21
9 - 10 a.m.

Registration and Continental Breakfast

Main Lobby

10 - 10:15 a.m.

Welcome from the Dean and School Highlights

Auditorium (Room 130)

10:15 - 11 a.m.

Keynote Panel

Facilitator: Bim Akintade, PhD ’11, MS ’05, MBA, BSN ’03, ACNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP, FAAN


  • Laura Ruse Brosch, PhD ’98, RN, US Army Retired
  • Rebecca Wiseman, PhD ’93, RN
  • George Zangaro, PhD ’05, MS ’98, RN, FAAN
11 - 11:15 a.m.

Coffee Break

11:15 a.m. - noon

Rising Stars in Nursing Research Panel

  • Kelly Doran, PhD ’11, MS ’08, RN, FAAN
  • Dzifa Dordunoo, PhD ’14, RN
  • Lena Jumin Lee, PhD ’15, RN
noon - 1:45 p.m.

Celebratory Luncheon

Southern Management Corporation Campus Center, Elm Ballrooms

1 - 1:45 p.m.

UMSON and Southern Management Corporation Campus Center Tour (optional)

2 - 2:45 p.m.

Roundtable Discussions

Southern Management Corporation Campus Center, Elm Ballrooms

3 - 3:45 p.m.

Well-Being and Wellness for Health Care Providers

Presenter: Benjamin Canha, PhD ’19, MS ’96, RN

More Information

45th Anniversary Planning Committee

Katie Bowers
Current PhD Student and Co-President, Doctoral Student Organization

Abaneh Ebangwese, BSN ’15, RN
Current PhD student and Co-President, Doctoral Student Organization

Robyn Gilden, PhD ’10, MS ’01, RN
Associate Professor

Patricia Liehr, PhD ’87, RN
Professor Emerita
Florida Atlantic University

Patricia Morton, PhD ’89, RN, ACNP-BC, FAAN
Dean Emerita
University of Utah College of Nursing

Eun-Shim Nahm, PhD '03, RN, FAAN, FGSA
Professor; Associate Dean for the PhD Program; and Co-Director, Postdoctoral Program

Anju Paudel, PhD ’21, MGS, RN
Assistant Professor
Penn State University

Cynthia Sikorski, BA
Executive Director of Alumni Relations

Stefan Specian, BA
Development and Alumni Relations Associate II

Sue Thomas, PhD, MS ’73, BSN ’69, RN, FAAN
Professor Emerita

Paul Thurman, PhD ’18, RN, ACNPC, CCNS, CCRN, CNE
Assistant Professor

Nicole Willhide, MS
Administrative Manager

Rebecca Wiseman, PhD ’93, RN

George Zangaro, PhD ’05, RN, FAAN
Chief Policy and Scientific Officer
American Association of Colleges of Nursing