News Releases

Two University of Maryland School of Nursing Faculty Members and Eight Alumnae Selected to AAN’s 2016 Class of Fellows

October 26, 2016

Fellows have made significant contributions to nursing and health care. 

Baltimore, Md.  – Two University of Maryland School of Nursing (UMSON) faculty members, eight alumnae, and a former adjunct assistant professor were honored at the American Academy of Nursing’s (AAN) annual meeting and conference recently held in Washington, D.C.

Associate Professors Elizabeth Galik, PhD ’07, CRNP, FAANP, and Joseph E. Pellegrini, PhD, CRNA, director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Nurse Anesthesia specialty, were inducted into AAN’s 2016 class of fellows, and alumna Ann Wolbert Burgess, DNSc, MS '59, RNCS, FAAN, professor, Boston College William F. Connell School of Nursing, was designated a Living Legend, an AAN Fellow of at least 15 years who has demonstrated extraordinary, sustained contributions to nursing and to health care.

“The induction of Drs. Galik and Pellegrini speaks to their dedication to nursing education, research, and practice, and to their many scholarly achievements. We are extremely proud of both of them and grateful for their ongoing contributions to the School of Nursing,” said UMSON Dean Jane M. Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN. “Dr. Ann Wolbert Burgess’ recognition as an AAN ‘Living Legend’ is a wonderful acknowledgment of her profound and lasting contributions to understanding and addressing the impact of sexual violence and trauma at the individual and societal levels. We salute her on achieving the highest of all AAN honors.”

Additionally, UMSON alumnae Murielle Beene, DNP, MBA, MPH, MS ’01, RN-BC, PMP;  Kristy Duffey, MS ’98, APRN, GNP-BC;  Patricia Sengstack, DNP, MS ’88, BSN ’82, RN-BC;  JoAnne Silbert-Flagg, DNP, MS ’83, BSN ’79, CRNP; Laura A. Taylor, PhD, MS ’90, BSN ’86, RN, ANEF; Ting-Ting Lee, PhD ’98, MS ’93, RN; and Cara J. Krulewitch, PhD ’92, CNM, FACNM; and former Adjunct Assistant Professor Sherry B. Perkins, PhD, RN, were also among 164 highly distinguished nurse leaders who composed this year’s cohort.

“We are thrilled that eight alumnae were recognized, and we congratulate each one on achieving this significant national honor. It is a testament to the contributions that each one is making within their chosen specialties and in their communities,” Kirschling said. “We also congratulate Dr. Sherry Perkins, our esteemed colleague, on this well-deserved honor. She has contributed so much to nursing practice and health care delivery regionally and nationally through her executive leadership and operational roles.”

Criteria for selection as a fellow include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current AAN Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel of elected and appointed fellows.

Galik has been internationally recognized for her work in improving care practices for older adults with dementia. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator for 11 research studies and has been an advisor to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Additionally, Galik has been named a fellow of the Gerontological Society of America and the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholar.

Pellegrini has made significant contributions to research, education, and leadership in the nurse anesthesia field and has been published in 68 peer-reviewed journals. He also serves as the sole representative for the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists on the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology Patient Safety Council.

Burgess has been internationally lauded as a pioneer in the assessment and treatment of victims of sexual violence and trauma. Her transformative work as co-founder of one of the first hospital-based crisis counseling programs introduced Rape Trauma Syndrome into scientific literature. She has worked with the FBI to study links between child abuse, juvenile delinquency, and subsequent perpetration. 

AAN consists of more than 2,400 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research, including hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. The 2016 class represents all 50 U.S. states and Washington, D.C., and 28 countries.

 FAAN: Burgess, Galik, Pellegrini

# # #


The University of Maryland School of Nursing, founded in 1889, is one of the oldest and largest nursing schools in the nation. Enrolling more than 1,700 students in its baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral programs, the School develops leaders who shape the profession of nursing and impact the health care environment.