Leadership, Offices, and Services


The School of Nursing is led by the dean, Jane M. Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN. The dean provides vision and leadership in direction, coordination, integration, and balance of the School of Nursing's teaching, research, practice, and service missions. The dean reports directly to the University of Maryland president and is a member of the President's Cabinet.

  • Dean, Jane Kirschling
  • Associate Dean for Development and Alumni Relations, Laurette Hankins
  • Associate Dean of Research, Erika Friedmann
  • Associate Dean for the Baccalaureate Program, Nina Trocky
  • Associate Dean for the Master of Science Program, Gail Lemaire
  • Associate Dean for the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program, Shannon Idzik
  • Associate Dean for the PhD Program, Meg Johantgen
  • Associate Dean for Student and Academic Services, Larry Fillian Jr.
  • Associate Dean for Administration and Finance, Bill Gardiner
  • Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Jeffrey Ash
  • Chair, Department of Family and Community Health, Karen Kauffman
  • Chair, Department of Organizational Systems and Adult Health, Kathleen Michael
  • Chair, Department of Pain and Translational Symptom Science, Susan Dorsey
  • Chair, Department of Partnerships, Professional Education, and Practice, Kathryn Montgomery
  • Chair, UMSON Program at Shady Grove, Rebecca Wiseman
  • Chair, Faculty Council, Becky Brotemarkle
  • Chair, Staff Council, Angie Hines
  • Director of Marketing and Public Relations, Giordana Segneri
  • Special Assistant to the Dean, Deborah Prout