News Releases

University of Maryland School of Nursing Administrator and Eight Alumni to be Inducted as Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing

July 8, 2013

Karen Kaufman's headshotBaltimore, Md. – Karen S. Kauffman, PhD, CRNP-BC, associate professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Health at the University of Maryland School of Nursing (UMSON), and eight UMSON alumni, are among 172 nurse leaders who will be inducted into the American Academy of Nursing’s (AAN) 2013 Class of Fellows this fall. 

Joining Kauffman as members of this year’s class are UMSON alumni Anna C. Alt-White, PhD ’87, RN; Col. Margaret M. McNeill, PhD ’07, MS ’93 RN, CCRN, CCNS, NE-BC, CIP; Renee A. Milligan, PhD ’89, WHNP; Sue A. Moorhead, PhD, RN, BSN ’72; Richard Ricciardi, PhD, MS ’91, NP; Diane Seibert, PhD, ARNP-BC, MS ’94; Elizabeth Sloand, PhD, MS ’86, RN, CRNP-BC; and Sharon A. R. Stanley, PhD, RN, RS, BSN ’77. Fellows will be inducted during the AAN’s 40th annual meeting being held in Washington, D.C. in October. 

The AAN consists of more than 2,000 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research, including hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. The 2013 class represents all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia, and 19 countries.

“It’s a tremendous honor to have been selected for a fellowship in the American Academy of Nursing based on my contributions to public policy over the past eight years, as the only nurse on the Alzheimer’s Association National Board of Directors,” Kauffman said. “As a Fellow, I look forward to participating on two expert panels  ̶  “Aging” and “Palliative and End of Life Care” ̶  to assure that nursing is aligned with the National Alzheimer’s Plan to prevent and effectively treat Alzheimer’s disease by 2025, and to facilitate achievement of the Association’s vision of a world without Alzheimer’s.”

Criteria for selection as a Fellow include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current AAN Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel of elected and appointed Fellows. 

“We are extremely proud of Dr. Kauffman’s selection as a 2013 Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. It is one of the most prestigious honors in nursing, and truly demonstrates how much she has contributed to the field. Dr. Kauffman is one of many first-rate, top-notch faculty members in the School of Nursing, and her work and impending induction confirms that our students are in good hands,” said UMSON Dean Jane Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN. “I am also very pleased to see alumni from the University of Maryland School of Nursing being recognized for their outstanding contributions. We are very proud that we have played a role in both their nursing education and leadership potential.”    

For more information about the AAN and its annual meeting, visit

# # # 

The University of Maryland School of Nursing, founded in 1889, is one of the oldest and largest nursing schools, and is ranked eleventh nationally. Enrolling nearly 1,700 students in its baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral programs, the School develops leaders who shape the profession of nursing and impact the health care environment.