News Releases

Two UMSON Faculty Members Inducted as Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing

October 17, 2012

FAAN-Induction-2012-001Baltimore, Md. – Two University of Maryland School of Nursing (UMSON) faculty members were inducted as Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing at the Academy’s 39th Annual Meeting and Conference held October 13, in Washington, D.C. Jeanne Geiger-Brown, PhD, RN, FAAN, assistant dean of research and associate professor, and Jane Kapustin, PhD, RN, CRNP, FAANP, FAAN, professor and assistant dean for the master’s and DNP programs, were among 176 nurse leaders inducted into the 2012 Class of Fellows.

Geiger-Brown, who has been a member of the UMSON faculty since 2001, is a nurse scientist whose research focuses on occupational epidemiology, cognitive science, and sleep medicine. Her studies include work schedules and sleep deficiency, occupational sleep disorders, and screening for sleep disorders in occupational settings. In addition, Geiger-Brown conducts intervention research to assist individuals and organizations in improving the quantity and quality of sleep achieved by workers. Through her research, public awareness has been raised about fatigue among workers with shift work and extended work hours.  

Kapustin, a member of the UMSON faculty since 2000, is board certified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as an adult nurse practitioner and in advance diabetes management. She mentors doctoral and master’s students at the University of Maryland Center for Diabetes in Baltimore, where she maintains a faculty practice. At the diabetes center, Kapustin manages complex patients with diabetes. She serves on numerous doctoral dissertation and/or capstone committees for students interested in diabetes, genetics, and health care policy. Kapustin has published more than 40 articles and 12 book chapters, mostly on diabetes, and routinely lectures at national conferences such as the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties, where she serves on the board.

“Dr. Geiger-Brown and Dr. Kapustin’s selection into this year’s class of Fellows is a remarkable accomplishment,” said Janet D. Allan, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean of UMSON. “Their induction is a testament to the first-rate faculty that we have at the School of Nursing and their valuable contributions to the nursing profession.”

With their inductions, Geiger-Brown and Kapustin joined 16 other faculty members from UMSON who have been previously selected. The AAN consists of more than 1,800 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. Selection criteria is based on evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current AAN Fellows.                       

# # #

The University of Maryland School of Nursing, founded in 1889, is one of the oldest and largest nursing schools, and is ranked eleventh nationally. Enrolling more than 1,700 students in its baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral programs, the School develops leaders who shape the profession of nursing and impact the health care environment.