News Releases

Four New Members Join School of Nursing Board of Visitors

April 6, 2005

Baltimore, Md. – The University of Maryland School of Nursing recently added four new members to its Board of Visitors. The new members, who will serve three-year terms from 2005 to 2008, include Suzanne Beckner, PhD, associate director of clinical trials at Westat; Debra Doyle, MBA, vice president of operations management at Erickson Retirement Communities; Antonella Favit-Van Pelt, MD, PhD, medical director, Department of Clinical Pharmacology and Experimental Medicine at Guilford Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; and Joan B. Gillece, PhD, director, Division of Special Needs Populations, Mental Hygiene Administration, Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.

“We welcome our new Board members and look forward to working with them on future projects to benefit the School of Nursing,” says David Oros, president and CEO of Aether Systems and chairman of the School's Board of Visitors.

Members of the Board of Visitors come from the ranks of corporate and community leadership, and from committed alumni and friends of the School. These distinguished members actively participate by lending their skills and expertise to the areas of fundraising, public relations, advocacy and education.

“We are very pleased that these exemplary leaders have joined our distinguished Board of Visitors,” said Janet D. Allan, PhD, RN, CS, FAAN, dean of the School of Nursing. “Their expertise is crucial for assuring that our education, research and clinical practice programs remain relevant to the ever-changing health care system and meet the needs of the citizens of Maryland.”