Graduate Nursing Association (GNA)

‌‌GNA 2015 Board

About Us

The purpose of the GNA is to advocate for all master's-level graduate nursing students through encouraging good fellowship, creating a sense of community, and facilitating communication between faculty, staff, and students at the University of Maryland School of Nursing (UMSON). GNA inspires professional growth by providing programs representative of fundamental and emerging trends in the field of nursing and promotes a dynamic and diverse student body dedicated to the highest quality of health care.

Officers

Athena Balanou headshot

Athena Balanou, President
Third Semester CNL, graduating May 2016
BS in Biology, University of Maryland, College Park
Hometown: Rockville, MD
abalanou@umaryland.edu

Fornia Ung headshot

Fornia Ung, Vice President
Third Semester CNL, graduating December 2016
BA in Germanic Studies, University of Claifornia, Los Angeles
Nursing Interests: Oncology, Critical Care, Shock Trauma
Hometown: Long Beach, CA
fornia.ung@umaryland.edu

Kyle Forsburg headshot

Kyle Forsburg, Treasurer
Third Semester CNL, graduating December 2016
BS in Biology, Clarion University of Pennsylvania
Hometown: South Williamsport, PA
ktforsburg@umaryland.edu

Lauren Barry, Secretary
Third Semester CNL, graduating May 2016
BA in American Studies, University of Maryland, College Park
Hometown: Phoenix, MD
laurenbarry@umaryland.edu

Stephanie Jarvis, Social Chair
Third Semester CNL, graduating December 2016
BS in Biology, Loyola University Maryland
Hometown: Newtown, CT
sajarvis@umaryand.edu

Monica Zabel, Community Chair
Final Semester CNL, graduating December 2015
BA in International Affairs, James Madison University
Hometown: Ellicott City, MD
zabelmm@umaryland.edu

  Mustafa Alrubaiee
Third Semester CNL, graduating May 2016
B.D.S., Baghdad, Iraq
MS in National Security Strategy, National Defense University
Hometown: Baghdad, Iraq
moebaker@umaryland.edu
Bethany Brown headshot 

Bethany Brown, Mentor Program Liaison
Third semester CNL, graduating May 2016
B.S. in Interdisciplinary Studies, Natural Science, Towson University
Hometown: Towson, MD
bbrown15@umaryland.edu

Sarah Keenan headshot 

Sarah Keenan, Mentor Program Liaison
Second Semester CNL, graduating December 2016
BS in Biology, Loyola University Maryland
Hometown: Baltimore, MD
skeenan@umaryland.edu

Sawyer Spurry headshot

Sawyer Spurry, Primary USGA Senator
Second Semester CNL, graduating December 2016
BS in Neurobiology & Physiology, University of Maryland, College Park
Hometown: Easton, MD
sspurry@umaryland.edu

Events

Upcoming Events

There are currently no events for this period.

More events

Resources

Contact Us

GNA officers can be reached via email at GNA@son.umaryland.edu.